Glen Forrest is one of the many charming villages in the Shire of Mundaring and is approximately 23 kilometres from the Perth central business district. The village grew around the original timber mill which was established in 1877 - Smith's Mill. Today the visitor will discover a wide range of heritage and tourism sites, and plenty of things to see and do. Central to the village is the Railway Reserve Heritage Trail, and the Morgan John Morgan Reserve, which was the site of the original railway station. This trail retraces 70 kilometres of the old Eastern Railway which was constructed from Fremantle to York in the 1880s, and closed in the 1950s. The trail has become one of the major recreational facilities in the Mundaring Shire and is suitable for walking, cycling and horse riding; it features the attractive scenery and flora and fauna of the Darling Range.