The small Glenelg Highway town of Linton takes its name from a pioneer family in an area which was first settled in about 1840.
Some gold was found in 1848, but it wasn't until 1854 that the first payable lode was struck in a mining area that became known as the Linton Diggings. There was a large sprinkling of Chinese among the miners who worked the local shafts and when the gold finally ran out a number of them remained to set up market gardens.
The mining paraphernalia and bared rock formations through the entire district make the area round Linton a living gold mining museum.
But nature lovers can get their fill to the south-east of the township where eucalypt and pine forests harbour a bird sanctuary near Soringdallah Creek.