A two-hour drive north of Adelaide, the rural town of Spalding is at the centre of the largest water catchment area in South Australia.
A network of streams, creeks and rivers meet four kilometres south of the town to form the Broughton River which was mapped and named in 1839 by explorer Edward John Eyre. And not only does the river system help sustain productive grain farms and sheep and beef cattle runs, but the Broughton attracts anglers from far and wide to challenge its wily trout.
Visitors get an insight into the lives and times of the pioneer settlers at Geralka Rural Farm where teams of Clydesdales haul original ploughs and rippers. And a tour of the Wheal Sarah copper mine introduces visitors to the hardships and trials faced by early miners.
Opened in 1877, the Spalding Hotel was run by members of the Fahey family for more than 65 years before being leased by the local community.